• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Abruzzo - Pescara/Chieti/and Territory - Where should we stay?

Wendy&Rob

100+ Posts
Hello, I have been following Pauline and Steve's SlowEurope for a bit, but this is my first time posting, many of you already know us and that is very comforting.

The following is a posting I made a short time ago on that other site. I am hoping that possibly someone here might be able to help us on...;

At the end of this May we are planning on spending 5 nights in Abruzzo. We will be coming from Rome and following our Abruzzo time with time in Venice. I have our anchors, and as of a short time ago I have our air.
dancingman.gif
What I/we don’t have is where to base ourselves in Abruzzo.

Rob’s Father’s family came from this region, his Grandmother from Chieti and his Grandfather from Salle Vecchia -http://www.italyheritage.com/r...zo/pescara/salle.htm and these are the two parts of Abruzzo we want to spend time in-and-around.

In 2006/7(?) we spent a few hours in Salle Vecchia, walking around, just us and a white pigeon - everywhere we went this same pigeon followed us. Seriously. When we drove away the heavens opened up and P O U R E D down on us all the way back to Rome - one of our scariest times in a car, for both of us, Ever! I mentioned at the time “it is like ‘It’ doesn’t want you to leave”, “It” being the town. BTW, Rob shares his birthday with the Patron Saint for Salle Vecchia - St. Robert July 18th.

We absolutely will spend time there and see the castle and the church, which were both closed up tight when we were there. Rob researched whether the church and castle are open to the public, and it is open daily with a reservation - that will be Rob’s job... securing the reservations.

We have not been to Chieti, maybe there or Pescara would be a good ‘home’ base. I don’t think Rob will contact his Pescara relatives.