• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

AirBnB: Please reassure me !

Tim W

100+ Posts
I've been travelling to Italy and other parts of the world for around 18 years (I was a late starter), and have nearly always rented apartments. Thie has been from a mixture of VRBO, Homelidays, Holidayrentals, Homeaway and Tripadvisor. I've nearly always been fortunate, and in that time have only ever had one mediocre experience.

Increasingly, I see people staying at places booked through AirBnB, and looking at listings for our forthcoming trip to Piemonte, there are some great looking places - well within our budget, with numerous, very good reviews. So why am I so nervous about using them?

It seems an irrational thought, but something about the whole website makes me unsure - which is strange because I am not normally an indecisive person.
Please will people chime in to tell me I'm just being silly (or let me know any bad experiences). I at least need some feedback so I can rationally make a decision.

I’ve been using AirBnB to find places, then booking them on their own websites or booking.com. The latter seems to have better terms like you can reserve without paying a deposit. And you can talk to the owner before booking. But for our Brittany trip I booked two one-week rentals on AirBnB. They were fine and the booking went well.

The thing I like about AirBnB is the way the site works. It is good for searching. I like the reviews but I think people tend to be too positive in their reviews. I know that I was. It is hard to say that the stairs are freaky steep and the upstairs carpet smells when you are know the owner has worked hard to create a place. It is almost like you are reviewing the owner. So read reviews with a grain of salt and read as many of them as you can stand to find any hints of problems.