• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Information Anyone read Vasari's "The Lives of the Artists"?

SuzanneT

10+ Posts
In preparation for my return to Florence on 12 March !!! I'm taking a couple courses. There's focus on Vasari's biases/pov but I'm curious if anyone here has read his book and was it worthwhile?
It's even available on kindle!
Grazie mille

I read it some years back. I found it interesting and worth the read, especially since I studied in Florence and listened to a lot of lectures on art history.

I read it some years back. I found it interesting and worth the read, especially since I studied in Florence and listened to a lot of lectures on art history.
In preparation for my return to Florence on 12 March !!! I'm taking a couple courses. There's focus on Vasari's biases/pov but I'm curious if anyone here has read his book and was it worthwhile?
It's even available on kindle!
Grazie mille
It's a well deserved 'classic', but rather encyclopedic in nature and most typically read in sections devoted to the few/several artists and their period of work that you will be focusing your studies on. In general, a very worthwhile resource to enrich your Florentine experience. Also, note the new room distributions of paintings at the Uffizi, which I assume will be on your itinerary. Enjoy!

I found a free copy and downloaded it from utorrent and am really enjoying reading about an artist that I'm focusing on vs "reading" the whole book!

Allen...I used to go to the Uffizi every morning (1960's, 70's) when it was practically empty and I had a museum pass. I would pop in and see my favorites including the Room of Unknown Angels and leave. But then things changed and it's so packed with people I don't want to go.

Any suggestions?