• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Umbria B & B in the Orvieto countryside

italian excursion

100+ Posts
Granted, a slow travel experience has been determined by us "slow traveler's" to be one in which we stay in an area for a length of time which enables us to have a community experience. So, while villas, houses and apartments are most conducive to that experience, I often find B & B's owned by a family give me the same experience, minus the cooking! This last trip I stayed a week with a British couple who have lived in the Orvieto countryside (Cononico, Orvieto, Umbria) for about two decades after living in Greece for a number of years. I have been visiting this area of Italy for more than 20 years and have stayed in dozens of lodgings from small houses to large villas. This was by far, one of the best experiences, in many ways, that I've had regarding lodging. Lois and I have been acquainted for several years and when she announced that she and Paul had finished the en-suite room they were building into their self-renovated farmhouse, I was invited to "give it a try". Here is a review of a most delightful week in the country.

1527966536832.png