• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Hello! New to slow travel

Daniel

Hi everyone,

I am a Portuguese living in the United Kingdom, although I also spend some time travelling. I've always enjoyed travelling, and I am still partial to a fast type of travelling, particularly if it is my first time in a place, and time is short. Still, I am trying to gravitate towards a slower lifestyle, travelling included. Looking forward to reading about other people's travel, and giving some tips whenever I can.

Welcome. I understand your problem. Do you do a place once over lightly or do you settle in and learn a place? Our first 25 years of marriage it was all about the driving vacation. Wave as you drove by. And in America given its size and newness that probably is the way to go. Then in 1997 we went to Rome, rented an apartment and stayed for a month. We fell in love. Not only with the city but that way of traveling. Since then we travel for a minimum of a month. The one exception was last spring we went to japan on a cruise and hated it. It today is Tuesday this must be Tokyo. Not the cruise part the stopping somewhere for 8 hours.

So definitely hang around. You sound like you would be a great resource for places to explore in depth.

Welcome Daniel

Such a trade off fast vs. slow. It's not easy.