• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Lodging in Madrid

Howard

10+ Posts
Hi- We will be in Madrid for 2-3 nights in December before heading for Andalucia and would like to find an interesting hotel in a good location in which to stay. We prefer small places that are iidiosyncratic/local in nature (not big chain hotels). Any recommendations would be much appreciated. Thank you -Howard

We stayed a few times at a small hotel near Puerta del Sol (on C. del Arsenal). It's extremely central, nice, clean and not too expensive (in December). I would highly recommend it. It's called Hotel Francisco I.

If you take Christian's hotel recommendation (I have no knowledge about the hotel to share) you will be a 2 minute walk from Chocolateria San Gines where you can get outstanding hot chocolate and churros. mmmm mmmm good.

Churros.JPG

Late to the thread....
We stayed at SLEEP'N Atocha in 2019. Clean, reasonable, nice rooftop bar/café, and solid breakfast. A real funky lobby!

Short walk from Atocha Train Station, Plaza Mayor, and Prado Museum.

Nothing fancy but we would stay there again.

Hello Howard!!
Francisco I hotel is a great option. I would also consider Hotel Preciados. We stayed there in 2019 and it was fantastic!!

Enjoy your trip :) Madrid is amazing

In 2015, my mom & I stayed in an apartment hotel, Matute 11 for about 5 nights. It was convenient to many sights in the city. They have studio apartments plus 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. There’s a kitchenette and small fridge. We had a one-bedroom and it was quite spacious. It had unique and kind of quirky decor. Our apartment had a mannequin in it, sans clothing. I put a scarf on him and we named him “Guillermo”.
IMG_0084.jpeg

I'm going to investigate all the recommendations in this thread.