• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Recommendations for Lodgings in Lake Como and Langhe areas

patricia c.

We are planning 10 days in Piemonte/Lombardia in late October. We are planning several days in Torino and want to spend 3 days in the Langhe area to see wineries, Asti and Alba, and 2 days in the Lake Como area.

We will have a car.

What inns, B&B's or small hotels would you suggest for Langhe and Como?

Thanks so much.

Patricia C

Hi Patricia
I've no experience in Como, but have stayed in a few place in the Langhe (Monforte d'Alba, Serralunga d'Alba, Treiso, La Morra), plus nearby (Corneliano d'Alba, Santa Vittoria d'Alba).

of those I'd very much recommend Val di spinsa (Santa vittoria d'Alba), Boasso (Serralunga d'alba), but all have had charm. The former perhaps ideal if wanting to see Alba and Asti as well, but villages near Barbaresco should also be very convenient.

The tourist office are very good indeed and have a big list / happy to book for tourists, but I also like agriturismo e.g. agriturismo.it

What inns, B&B's or small hotels would you suggest for Langhe and Como?

Hello Patricia and welcome here.

If you are leaning towards a small accommodation, then I would second Ian's mention of staying at an agriturismo while in the Langhe. This is the only type of accommodation we use when in the countryside.
I'm not saying that inns and B&Bs can't offer a similar experience - but you might want to give this alternative a try on your upcoming trip, if you've never stayed on one before.

We have fallen in love with the fine hospitality, the lovely settings and the personal connections usually forged during a stay like this. But of course this a matter of personal preferences.
If you decide to consider a stay at an agriturismo, I can point out a thread or two here that might be useful to you. Finding an agriturismo is easy - choosing one out of the many enticing options is the hard part.