• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

How has the popularity of cruises changed travel in Europe?

Pauline

Forums Admin
I have never been on a cruise, so I condemn what I have no direct experience of, but I have talked to enough people to understand what a cruise is like. I don't like the way the cruise ship traveler experiences Europe and I don't like the affect cruises have on European destinations. Cruises have become very popular in the last decade. Many non-cruise travelers what the cruise ship schedules so they avoid visiting a place the same day that a cruise ship stops.

But, maybe cruise ships are just replacing tour buses? I am not a fan of fast travel tours either, on a bus zipping around Europe, 1 or 2 night stops in different places. Are cruise ships better than bus tours for seeing Europe?

I wonder if it isn't just the vast size of the cruise ships that makes me dislike them. I could see myself taking a river cruise.

CONS OF DOING A CRUISE IN EUROPE
- Money is kept out of the local economy because people do not stay in local hotels and eat in local restaurants.
- Each destination is a day trip, and I think you don't really get to know a place on such a short stay.
- You travel in a crowd.

PROS OF DOING A CRUISE IN EUROPE
- Similar price to a bus tour but you don't have to unpack every night in a different hotel room.
- Seeing Europe from the water is probably pretty interesting, since many of the main cities are ports.
- You don't have to learn the local language!

Any comments? I have been thinking about this after reading about the cruise ships going into Venice and I want to know what other Europe travelers think.