• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

The planning begins - Portugal

MarciK

Hi!
I am a retired travel professional. I have planned many trips to Portugal for others over the years, but have not gotten there myself. I’m just starting to plan for end of September- early October 2023. My husband and I are an active late 60’s early 70’s couple, with interests in history, art, wine and local culture. I am tentatively thinking about basing in Lisbon for 4 nights, training to Porto for a few nights and want to stay at Six Senses Duoro Valley for 2 nights. I appreciate any suggestions, recommendations, etc. Thanks in advance. Marci

Welcome, Marci. Portugal is wonderful. I don't know if driving is something you would consider, but because our two weeks in the country were proceeded by two weeks in Spain we were driving. We rented a car in Madrid and dropped it off in Lisbon.
Before our final week in Lisbon, we drove south from the Galicia region of Spain. We started in the Minho and worked our way south to Lisbon along the west side of the country.
We stayed in a small hotel in on the edge of Penda-Geres National park. While there we visited the park and several fantastic historic cities like Guimaraes, Soajo, Ponte De Lima and Braga. We spent a couple of days doing one night stays as we worked our way south, and then ended up in Lisbon for a week where we rented an apartment on Praca Luis de Camoes in the Chiado neighborhood. It has been quite a few years, so I don't know how much of my specific info is actually still relevant.

Marci welcome! Cannot help with Lisbon, but we truly enjoyed Porto. Make sure you have good walking shoes! The steps can get tricky!

Dinner reservations are a must at most places. Highly recommend ODE Porto Wine House. It is small, quiet, excellent menu and wine list! Pictures of our dinner and restaurant are on my trip report Day 2. (October in España).