• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Where in Cornwall is best?

sharonov

10+ Posts
I've been talking about going to Cornwall for so many years that I am boring myself, but now we really want to do it. We definitely don't want to drive, since at 75 we're simply more likely to cause an accident while driving on the left--also, many rental places consider us too old! So, considering that and also the fact that too much uphill is uncomfortable for us, what would be recommended as a beautiful, quaint, scenic town to stay? Port Isaac, the Doc Martin town, is too hilly. Any other suggestions??

I would recommend St Ives. It is a larger town, on the sea, with beautiful beaches. It can get crowded but it has great shops and restaurants. Lots of art galleries and a major art museum. Good food shops too. There are a lot of vacation rentals in the town.

The train goes into St Ives and you could use it to see a few other places. There is a bus, summer only I think, that goes from St Ives around Penrith peninsula.

It is on a hill but the central part is flat.

Thanks, Pauline, I'll definitely put St. Ives on the top of my list! We'll be going in mid-September, so hopefully the worst of the crowds will have dissipated. Hopefully the busses will still be running.

Sharon,
There is an arts festival in St. Ives in September which brings in a lot of people. My friend and I stayed in St. Ives during this time, and while it was crowded, we enjoyed the festival. Lots of local artists open their studios and there are various performances in the evenings. The buses were still running the same schedule as summer then, though I don't know the current plans.

I'd also recommend looking at the Fodors forums cornwall posts. There is a woman who posts as AnnHig who lives in the area & gives great information & recommendations.

Search for Cornwall and AnnHig