• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Another Canadian Italy lover

Kportgrl

10+ Posts
Hello:

I am a recently retired teacher and an old time Maine vacationer, who has recently become enthralled with Italy. It is my hope to be able to travel widely, breathe deeply and soak in the cuisine and culture of the countries I visit.... Italy being my Number 1 obsession at this point in time.
Ciao

Welcome - Canadian Italy lovers unite! :) I'm a Nova Scotian who fell in love with Italy about 10 years ago, on my first trip to Europe. I've been back 5 times. My hubby and I dream of buying a tiny property in the south of Italy, so we can spend a few months a year there in our retirement.

Welcome - Canadian Italy lovers unite! :) I'm a Nova Scotian who fell in love with Italy about 10 years ago, on my first trip to Europe. I've been back 5 times. My hubby and I dream of buying a tiny property in the south of Italy, so we can spend a few months a year there in our retirement.
Thank you-do you have a favourite spot? It's so hard to narrow down where to visit.

Oh tough question! I seem to fall in love with every region I visit. But most recently down south. We spent a month there a couple years ago and I want to go back for more. I love Naples in all its chaotic, gritty, messy glory. Further south, the region of Basilicata is stunning. I definitely want to spend more time there. We spent three weeks there, and split our time between these three places:
* Maratea - on the coast (about 200 kms south of Naples) is also amazing. Mountains above, beach below...fun, curvy coastal ride to drive along.
* Matera. Oh my gosh, you need to go and experience this place in person. Seriously. Google images of the city...mindboggling. The around it is as gorgeous - rolling golden hills, hilltop towns, mountains.