• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Sicily at last--Spring 2023

lisaonthecape

10+ Posts
While I often read trip reports posted by others, this is my first time to actually write one. Mea culpa, with amends. By way of introduction, my husband Matt and I have been traveling to Italy since we married in 1990. At that time, Matt was working for a U.S. company that manufactured specialty paper, and the company purchased a small factory in tiny Bagnasco in Piemonte, near Mondavi. Matt traveled back and forth, spending the equivalent of about a year spread over 4 years. Back then, we were still paying off my law school student loans, but whenever we accumulated enough frequent flyer miles, off we went to Italy.

Fast forward to 2023: we've gradually worked our way further and further south, with trips to Puglia and Calabria, with one glaring omission--Sicily. Matt had always been skittish about Sicily because he remembered those days in the early 90's when the Mafia was blowing up bridges to take out the prosecutor determined to stop them. Thirty years later, things have definitely changed and, finally, off we went to Sicily. Delta had previously cancelled our direct Boston-to-Rome flight, so it was a long trip, first from Boston to JFK, then JFK to Rome, and Rome to Palermo. I actually managed several hours of sleep on the flight, which is rare for me, so the sleep and two espressi at Fiumincino left me reasonably rested for the final leg of our journey, a drive from the Palermo airport to our rented apartment in Trapani.