• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

What is your favorite Cotswold village?

I'm no expert, with just one week in the Cotswolds under my belt, but I really enjoyed our stay in Chipping Campden, and I remember being very taken with Burford, maybe just because it was my first real look at a Cotswolds village after we picked up our car in Oxford.

Not Bourton on the Water!! It is our Disneyland town. Pretty but full of tourists.

Stow, Chipping Campden, Broadway, Winchcombe in the North Cotswolds. Lots of accommodation options.
Burford in the east. Anywhere around Bibury east of Cirencester.
My village - Painswick in the south Cotswolds.
Tetbury is nice but a bit too far south.

I have a small website about the Cotswolds - Cotswolder - with information on many of the towns. It really depends on what you want to see and do. Will you book a vacation rental (called a holiday cottage here)? If so, that may make the decision for you. There are many good vacation rental agencies for this area. I have a list on Slow Europe - Cotswolds.

We will get to see you I hope Cheryl! I am happy to help you decide on accommodations and location.

OK, all of a sudden I'm getting excited about a vacation that's a year and a half away! I don't want to hijack Cheryl's thread, so I hope my question might help her as well. Pauline, on the Cotswolder sight you say it's possible to stay a week without a car, and that might be a possibility since we want to do some walking, and love the idea of a local bus or train to neighboring villages. We'll be in the Cotswolds to see the Cotswolds, not use it as a base to see other areas. So, here's my question: if we stayed in a village with services and used public transport, combined with say, one local driving tour, do you have any idea how the costs would compare to just renting a car? And would having a car increase the number of rentals available, and allow more bang for our buck?