• CONTACT US if you have any problems registering for the forums.

Brittany Brittany, a general introduction

Eleanor

1000+ Posts
We spent three weeks in Brittany in September 2011. This report was originally published on Slow Travel and Pauline has asked me to post it here. As it is so long I've divided it up to make it more manageable. This is a general introduction and I have written separate reports for the three different places we stopped.

Part 1 covering Southern Finistere (Guengat) is here.

Part 2 covering Morbihan (Plumelec) is here.

Part 3 covering Northern Finistere (St Thegonnec) is here.

A three week holiday in Brittany in September 2011

“Let’s go to Brittany” said Michael.

I’d been to France in 1960 with my aunt which doesn’t really count and Michael had never been. We were complete novices.

We bought a copy of the Michelin map for Brittany, borrowed or bought guide books and sent off for information for companies renting gites in Brittany.

Although Brittany isn’t very big and it would be possible to reach all parts from a central location we decided to base ourselves in three areas to cut down on the amount of driving each day. I quickly identified Northern Brittany for the Parish Closes, Southern Brittany for the coastline and Morbihan for the megalithic remains.

We decided to use Brittany Ferries to book ferry crossings and also accommodation. They have a lot of gites scattered across Brittany. Coastal properties in the major tourist areas like Côte du Granit Rose were quite expensive but prices dropped if you moved inland or chose less popular areas.

Brittany Ferries produce a very detailed brochure and their website is easy to use. My only criticism is there is no logic in the order of gites in their brochure and if you are looking for a specific location it may be scattered across several pages. Check out locations carefully before booking as many can be at the end of a country road and not at all close to the village in the address.